Alaska Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
By 1982, the $100 possession fine was removed and in 1986 Alaska had decriminalized possession of up to 4 ounces of marijuana within a person’s residence, and up to 1 ounce outside of a person’s home.
By the late 1980s Alaska had battled a few large cannabis trafficking cases, where voters went ahead and approved the Alaska Marijuana Criminalization Initiative, also known as Ballot Measure 2 in 1990. This new law deemed that the possession of small amounts of marijuana could be a misdemeanor and punishable by up to 90-days in jail, or a $1,000 fine.
Following the recent criminalization of marijuana, Alaska voters passed the Alaska Medical Marijuana Initiative known as Measure 8 in 1998, which legalized medical marijuana use for qualifying individuals. At that time there was not yet a legal route to obtain the plant for patients or caregivers.
By 2006 anti-marijuana use had become popular yet again, allowing the re-criminalization of marijuana possession in Alaska. It wasn’t until 2014 where voters approved Alaska’s Measure 2, or the Alaska Marijuana Legalization Initiative which allowed for marijuana production, sale, use, and regulation of recreational cannabis. Following Measure 2 in 2015, Alaska changed their alcohol Beverage Control Board into the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO), which created a regulation board to govern recreational cannabis use, called the Marijuana Control Board (MCB).
In 2019, the state approved regulation for local governments to determine their own onsite regulations for marijuana use, which went into effect on April 11th.
Alaska Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Consumers of marijuana may possess 1 ounce of marijuana in any form and may also give up to 1 ounce of marijuana and give immature plants to a person who is 21 or older. While marijuana consumers may give marijuana, they may not sell it. Marijuana consumers in Alaska may carry cannabis in their vehicle if they are present, but the marijuana must be within a sealed container, or in the trunk.
Cultivation of marijuana in Alaska is legal for adults and patients if the marijuana cultivation site is not visibly seen by the public or roads. They may cultivate, process, and transport up to six immature marijuana plants with up to three flowering plants. Although, a single residence dwelling may have up to 12 marijuana plants, with 6 being flowering plants, regardless of how many adults live in the dwelling.
Get started with your Alaska Medical Marijuana Card today!