Delaware Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
Starting in 2011, the Delaware Medical Marijuana Act (DMMA) was signed into law and allows qualified patients to purchase and use cannabis for medicinal use.
Followed in 2015 with the Senate Bill 37, which made amendments to the state’s criminal code, allowing people with only one cannabis misdemeanor charge, or one felony to have their criminal records expunged after five or seven years.
Delaware’s Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) includes the Office of Medical Marijuana (OMM), which directly oversees the Medical Marijuana Program (MMP). The Office of Medical Marijuana created a registry for Delaware medical marijuana patients and caregivers while also creating regulations for the use of marijuana.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Card, Cultivation & Possession Laws
While cannabis is decriminalized in Delaware, this is only for small amounts. Non-patient individuals can receive a penalty fee of $100 and is not recorded as an offense. Possession of more than an ounce may result in receiving a misdemeanor with a $575 fine and three months in prison.
Marijuana is decriminalized, but this does not mean that it is legal to cultivate marijuana in the state of Delaware, for patients or caregivers. Patients and caregivers must purchase medical marijuana using their Delaware medical marijuana card and must only purchase medical cannabis from approved state-licensed medical marijuana dispensaries.
Get started with your Delaware Medical Marijuana Card today!