Online Medical Marijuana Card and Renewal FAQ
What are the qualifying medical conditions to get a New Hampshire medical marijuana card?
Your medical provider must certify that you have a qualifying medical condition established in law, as follows:
• Moderate to severe chronic pain; OR
• Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other
treatment options produced serious side effects; OR
• Moderate or severe post-traumatic stress disorder; OR
• Any combination of a qualifying diagnosis from (1) AND a qualifying symptom or side effect from (2):
1. Cancer; glaucoma; positive status for human immunodeficiency virus; acquired immune deficiency syndrome;
hepatitis C; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; muscular dystrophy; Crohn’s disease; multiple sclerosis; chronic
pancreatitis; spinal cord injury or disease; traumatic brain injury; epilepsy; lupus; Parkinson’s disease;
Alzheimer’s disease; ulcerative colitis; Ehlers-Danlos syndrome; or one or more injuries or conditions that has
resulted in one or more qualifying symptoms under (2); AND
2. Elevated intraocular pressure; cachexia; chemotherapy-induced anorexia; wasting syndrome; agitation of
Alzheimer’s disease; severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical
measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects; constant or severe nausea;
moderate to severe vomiting; seizures; or severe, persistent muscle spasms.
What are the minimum requirements to become a New Hampshire medical marijuana card patient?
You must be a resident of New Hampshire.
• You must be diagnosed by a medical provider as having a qualifying medical condition.
• You must apply for and be issued a valid Registry ID Card by the Therapeutic Cannabis Program (TCP/Program).
What are the requirements for minor patients (under 18 years of age) to get a New Hampshire medical marijuana card?
The Patient Application must be completed by the applicant’s custodial parent or legal guardian.
• The custodial parent or legal guardian must apply for and be approved as the applicant’s Designated Caregiver.
• A minor patient may have two Designated Caregivers, both of whom must be the patient’s parent or legal guardian.
• Two Written Certification forms are required, to be completed by two separate medical providers. One of the medical
providers must be a pediatrician.
• In cases where a minor applicant’s legal guardian is not a custodial parent, the legal guardian must submit proof of
legal guardianship with the application. Submit a copy of the entire order that shows the powers granted to the
guardian, which must include powers related to healthcare decisions.
How long is a New Hampshire medical marijuana card valid for?
A Registry ID Card is effective for one year (exceptions are described above under “Medical Providers”).
Things to know about how to renew a New Hampshire medical marijuana card.
• A Registry ID Card is effective for one year (exceptions are described above under “Medical Providers”).
• There is no difference between the initial and the renewal application process.
• There is not a separate renewal application form.
• Submit your renewal application materials at least 30 days prior to your card’s expiration to prevent a lapse in your registration.