Online Medical Marijuana Card and Renewal FAQ
What are the qualifying medical conditions to get a North Dakota medical marijuana card?
• Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
• Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
• Decompensated cirrhosis caused by hepatitis C
• Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
• Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
• Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease or related dementia
• Crohn’s disease
• Spinal stenosis or chronic back pain, including neuropathy or damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
• A terminal illness
• A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or treatment for such disease or medical condition that produces one or more of the following:
▪ Cachexia or wasting syndrome
▪ Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures for more than three months or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects
▪ Intractable nausea
▪ Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
Can a patient under the age of 19 years of age apply for a North Dakota medical marijuana card?
Yes. A patient under the age of 19 is considered to be a minor. The individual responsible for making medical decisions of the minor must submit an application on behalf of the applicant. A registered designated caregiver must purchase usable marijuana on the minor’s behalf. A registered designated caregiver can be a parent, guardian, or other individual.
How much usable medical marijuana can a registered North Dakota medical marijuana patient purchase in a 30 day period?
Dried Leaves and Flowers (special authorization from the health care provider is required) — 2.5 ounces total; and Other Medical Marijuana Products – 2,000 mg. total
How long is a North Dakota medical marijuana card valid for?
A North Dakota medical marijuana card is valid for one year unless specified otherwise by the health care provider on the written certification.
Who is required to have a North Dakota medical marijuana card?
A registered qualifying patient or registered designated caregiver who will purchase, possess, or transport usable marijuana must have a valid registry identification card. Any compassion center must have registry identification cards for all employees.
As a North Dakota patient, how do I know if I qualify to apply for a medical marijuana card?
• You have a qualifying debilitating medical condition (please see #8).
• You have an original written certification from your healthcare provider (please see #9).
• You have a bona fide provider-patient relationship.
• You pay a nonrefundable $50 application fee (may be waived for applicants under the age of 19).
• You submit all necessary information required by the Division of Medical Marijuana (to be determined, NDCC Section 19-24.1-03 includes statutory requirements of the application).