Frequently Asked Questions

Hello, how can we help?

accent group 1
accent group 2
accent group 3

Online Medical Marijuana Card and Renewal FAQ

What are the requirements to get a Utah medical marijuana card?

The requirements to get a medical cannabis card include:
Must be a Utah Resident;
Must have at least one qualifying condition;
Submit application online;
Meet in-person with a medical provider registered with the Utah Department of Health to recommend medical cannabis;
Medical provider has certified your eligibility for a medical cannabis card online; and
Pay a $15 application fee online.
NOTE: If a patient is a minor under the age of 21 or if they are an adult over 21 but do not have a qualifying condition, the application must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board. A minor cannot receive a medical cannabis card unless their parent or legal guardian qualifies for a medical cannabis guardian card.

How long is a Utah medical cannabis card good for?

A patient’s first medical cannabis card is active for 90 days from the date it was issued. Within the first 90 days, the patient and their medical provider must renew the patient’s medical cannabis card online or the card expires. Subsequent card renewal cycles are every six months or one year. The one year renewal cycle is possible if after at least one year following the issuance of the original card, the QMP determines that the patient has been stabilized on medical cannabis treatment and a one-year renewal period is justified.

Where can a Utah medical cannabis card holder buy medical cannabis in Utah?

Medical cannabis card holders may visit a medical cannabis dispensary to purchase medical marijuana. There may be only one or two pharmacies open in March 2020. Eight pharmacies plan to open by June 30, 2020 and an additional six plan to open on or after July 1, 2020.

What are the qualifying conditions to get a Utah medical cannabis card?

Qualifying conditions under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are listed below:
HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
Alzheimer’s disease
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
cancer
cachexia
persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
pregnancy
cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome
cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
epilepsy or debilitating seizures
multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist (defined here), and that:
has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
autism
a terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
a condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
a rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions

What if an individual's medical condition is not listed as a qualifying condition?

Patients with medical conditions not listed in the law may petition the Compassionate Use Board for a medical cannabis card, which will review petitions and recommend eligibility on a case-by-case basis.

Can someone diagnosed with PTSD receive a Utah medical marijuana card?

Yes. To qualify, a patient with PTSD must be treated and monitored by a Utah licensed mental health therapist (defined here). Additionally, a patient’s PTSD must:
have been diagnosed by a healthcare provider or a mental health provider employed or contracted by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
have been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation by a psychiatrist, at least a master’s level psychologist, a master’s level licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN.

What forms of medical cannabis are qualifying MMJ patients allowed to purchase and consume in Utah?

Medical cannabis will only be available in the following forms under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act:
Tablet
Capsule
Concentrated oil
Liquid suspension
Transdermal preparation
Gelatinous cube
Unprocessed cannabis flower in a tamper evident and resistant container that is opaque that contains a quantity that varies no more than 10% from the stated weight at the time of packaging
Wax or resin
Medical cannabis device such as a vaping pen that warms cannabis material into a vapor without the use of a flame and that delivers cannabis to an individual’s respiratory system
Smoking of cannabis is not permitted.
The law prohibits candies, cookies, brownies, and other edible products.

How much medical cannabis are qualifying patients allowed to possess at one time?

Utah medical marijuana patients may not possess:
More than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
More than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.

How much medical marijuana are qualifying MMJ patients allowed to purchase at one time?

Within a 30-day period, qualifying patients may not purchase:
more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
more than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.
Within a 30-day period, qualifying patients may not purchase:
more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
more than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.

What will it cost to get a Utah medical cannabis card?

The following fees apply to medical cannabis cards:
Patient Card (initial): $15
Patient Card (first 30-day renewal): $5
Patient Card (six-month renewal): $15
Guardian Card (initial): $66.25
Guardian Card (first 30-day renewal): $5
Guardian Card (six-month renewal): $24
Caregiver Card (initial): $66.25
Caregiver Card (six-month renewal): $14

Will Utah patients need a medical provider's recommendation in order to get a Utah medical marijuana card?

Yes, all patients must have a recommendation from a qualified medical provider (QMP) registered with the Utah Department of Health in order to obtain a medical cannabis card. A QMP must be a Utah licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) who has a controlled substance license and must have completed four hours of approved education and registered with the department.

How will medical cannabis providers determine the directions for use and dosing guidelines for their medical marijuana patients?

Qualified medical providers (QMPs) may submit directions for use and dosing guidelines for their patients in the electronic verification system (EVS) or they may leave those up to the pharmacy medical provider at the medical cannabis pharmacy to determine.