Kansas Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
Kansas passed the Alternative Crop Research Act in 2018 to investigate the viability of industrialized hemp, which is defined as cannabis with no more than 0.3% THC.
Soon after in 2018, Gov. Jeff Colyer signed SB 282, amending the legal definition of marijuana to accept cannabidiol (CBD), therefore legalizing access to CBD products that contain 0% THC.
Gov. Laura Kelly signed SB 28 known as Claire and Lola’s Law in 2019 providing patients, parents or guardians of patients who possess and use CBD oil with less than THC with affirmative defense. Since affirmative defense is primarily used in a trial, this means a person can still be arrested, charged, and held while awaiting trial. To claim affirmative defense, the patient, parent, or guardian must have a letter from a Kansas licensed doctor stating the patient’s medical condition at the time of arrest. The letter must be on the doctor’s letterhead and dated within the last 15-months. This law does not include a list of conditions but stipulates that a medically diagnosed disease or condition that impairs strength or function, such as seizures or MS would qualify.
Kansas Medial Marijuana Card, Cultivation & Possession Laws
Kansas is quite strict in terms of possession laws, as possession of small amounts of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in prison and a $1,000 fine for the first offense. All marijuana consumption objects such as waterpipes are illegal and considered drug paraphernalia.