Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
Massachusetts passed the Medical Marijuana Ballot Initiative, known as Question 3 in 2012. Question 3 allowed for the creation of the Massachusetts Medical Use of Marijuana Program.
In 2016 voters passed the Massachusetts Marijuana Legalization Initiative, known as Question 4, which legalized marijuana use for adults 21 and older. Question 4 also created the Cannabis Control Commission for regulating marijuana within Massachusetts.
In July 2017, H 3818 was signed by Gov. Charlie Baker which added two more members to the Cannabis Control Commission, while also creating a marijuana excise tax of 10.75% in addition to the state sales tax rate of 6.25%, and also allowing cities to add 3% totaling 20% tax on adult-use marijuana, while medical marijuana is tax free.
Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
In Massachusetts, adults 21 or older as well as patients/caregivers are allowed to possess up to 10 ounces of cannabis while inside of their residence, and less than 1 ounce in public. For medical marijuana card patients may possess a 60-day supply of cannabis concentrates while adults can possess up to 1 ounce of concentrates in public or 1.5 ounces at home.
Adults 21 and older can cultivate and grow up to 6 marijuana plants per person, with up to 12 plants per household. Patients who would like to cultivate their own marijuana plants can apply for hardship registration, and if approved can cultivate the number of plants necessary to provide the 60-day supply of cannabis. While possessing cannabis is legal, one can be fined $100 for smoking marijuana in public where tobacco smoking is prohibited, while possessing an open container of cannabis inside of a vehicle can result in a fine of $500.