Mississippi Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
In 2014 Gov. Phil Bryant signed HB 1231, also known as Harper Grace’s Law. This law provides affirmative defense to patients suffering from epilepsy, as well as for their parents/guardians for the possession and use of CBD oil or resin that contains at least 15% CBD and no more than 0.5% THC with 50 milligrams of CBD per milliliter.
In November 2020, Mississippi residents approved Initiative 65, which legalized the use of marijuana for medical treatment for 22 qualifying medical conditions. The initiative also set up a system for physicians to recommend medical marijuana to patients with serious symptoms, allowing patients and their caregivers to purchase, possess, and consume medical marijuana.
Mississippi Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
In Mississippi, small amounts of marijuana have been decriminalized, with possession of up to 1 ounce of cannabis, or 10 grams of synthetic cannabinoids being punishable with a fine of $100 or $250 for fire-time offenses. Repeated offenses or possession amounts can result in larger fines. Cultivation of marijuana is currently illegal, as the state will be issuing medical marijuana cultivation licenses. Until then, Mississippi cultivators can be punished based on the aggregate weight of the marijuana plants that are found, which can imply serious penalties and possibly prison depending on the weight amounts.