Missouri Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
In 2014, Missouri passed HB 2238 creating the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP). This law allowed Missourians diagnosed with intractable epilepsy to legally possess, purchase, and use hemp extract with no more than 0.3% THC and at least 5% CBD.
Followed in 2014 by SB 491 which made the possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana to be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine for first-time offenders. Possession of great quantities is a felony in Missouri.
In 2018, Missouri voters approved Amendment 2 to legalize medical marijuana as recommended by state-licensed physicians and create regulation for licensing and certification of patients.
Missouri Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Qualifying patients and caregivers can possess a 60-day supply of marijuana, defined as 8 ounces if the patient doesn’t grow their own marijuana. Patients and caregivers who cultivate marijuana can possess up to a 9-day supply of marijuana, defined as 12 ounces if the marijuana never leaves the cultivation property. If a patient possesses an amount within double their allowed amount, the patient can be fined $200 and have their Missouri medical marijuana card revoked. For adults, possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana or synthetic marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine. For patients cultivating their own marijuana, patients must provide the address, patient license number, a statement allowing DHSS to inspect the cultivation-site, a signature and fee payments. Failure to provide access to the site would result in a revocation of the Missouri medical marijuana license.
Cultivation must be in an enclosed, locked space. One patient may have up to six flowering plants and six nonflowering plants taller than 14 inches, and 6 clones shorter than 14 inches. No more than 12 plants may be cultivated in a single cultivation site unless the plants are cultivated by a caregiver with multiple patients. In such a case, the plants must be labelled with each patient’s name, and the cultivation authorization from the DHSS must be displayed near the growing plants.