Tennessee Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
In 2015, Gov. Bill Haslam signed a law to permit cannabidiol (CBD) products containing less than 0.9% THC to treat intractable seizures. This is currently the only medical marijuana treatment available, which is in the form of CBD oil at 0.9% THC.
Tennessee Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Since Tennessee has not legalized medical marijuana or recreational marijuana, the state carries penalties for possession and cultivation. Possession of 0.5 ounce or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor and punishable by up to a $250 fine and one year imprisonment. Although, the Nashville District Attorney’s Office had specified in 2020 that it will not prosecute possession of less than 0.5 ounce of marijuana, but since this is only one jurisdiction, this does not mean that marijuana has been decriminalized in the state of Tennessee. Cultivation of 10 plants or less is considered a felony punishable up to 6 years imprisonment and a $5,000 fine. Possession with intent to distribute of 0.5 oz to 10 pounds is considered a felony carrying the same penalties as cultivating 10 or less marijuana plants in Tennessee. Paraphernalia laws are also strict, being considered a misdemeanor carrying a maximum fine up to $2,500 and imprisonment up to 1 year.