Texas Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
On June 11, 2015, Texas Legislature passed the Texas Compassionate Use Act, known as SB 339, which allows organizations to cultivate, process, and dispense low-THC marijuana to qualifying patients. The law also legalized the sale of low-THC, high-CBD marijuana to treat intractable epilepsy. Low-THC marijuana is defined by Texas as not containing more than 0.5% THC by weight. Ingesting low-THC marijuana by smoking is prohibited in Texas.
Texas Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession
Texas has not decriminalized marijuana, and therefore any possession of marijuana with more 0.5% THC by weight can result in criminal penalties. Possession of 2 ounces or less is considered a misdemeanor carrying a penalty of 180 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000. Cultivation of marijuana in Texas is equated to possession penalties which increase depending on the amount of marijuana in-possession and are quite severe.