Utah Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
On Nov. 6, 2018, Utah approved Prop 2, which allows medical marijuana patients in Utah to obtain and use medical marijuana. It also allows for state-licensed facilities to grow, process, test, or sell medical marijuana.
By Dec. 3, 2018, the Utah Medical Cannabis Act, known as HB 3001 was passed. This law tightened qualifications for caregivers or guardians while allowing employment protections for patients, and regulations of how medical marijuana could be consumed by patients, while also relaxing Utah’s medical marijuana card renewal requirements to ease accessibility. This law was followed by several additional laws; HB 195, HB 121, and HB 425. These laws loosened restrictions in some areas, while tightening restrictions in other areas. These consisted of allowing terminally ill patients to try medical marijuana, expunging marijuana-related convictions, establishing a seed-to-sale tracking system and waived ID requirements to make purchasing easier for patients during the coronavirus pandemic.
Utah Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Medical marijuana card holders in Utah can possess up to 3.95 ounces of medical marijuana within a 30-day period. Patients and caregivers must carry their state-issues medical marijuana card when transporting or possessing medical marijuana outside of their home. For adults without a Utah medical marijuana card, possession of less than 1 ounce is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. A second conviction is a class A misdemeanor, and a third conviction may result in a third-degree felony in Utah. Cultivation of medical marijuana is prohibited in Utah.