West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
In 2017 Gov. Jim Justice signed SB 386 know as the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act. This bill created the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Commission, and established rules and timelines for the creation of a medical marijuana system statewide.
Due to some financial troubles, SB 1037 was implemented to resolve the unclear terminology used in SB 386. Sb 1037 redefined requirements for dispensary, processor, and grower permits while also establishing the tax schedules while providing protections for physicians and patients alike.
In May 2019, HB 2538 allowed for banking institutions to bid to become a third-party vendor to handle banking services related to the state’s medical marijuana program, unfortunately no banking vendors have met the West Virginia Treasurer’s requirements.
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Cultivation & Possession Laws
West Virginia medical marijuana patients and caregivers may possess no more than a 30-day supply of medical marijuana, as specified by the certifying physician. Patients and caregivers who knowingly possess more than a 30-day supply of medical marijuana face penalties of up to 6 months imprisonment. Cultivation of marijuana is entirely prohibited and may only obtain marijuana from licensed West Virginia dispensaries once operational.