Wyoming Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
On March 6, 2019 Wyoming enacted HB0171 which legalized hemp, and gives the Department of Agriculture oversight authority over it’s production and regulation. Following the signing of HB 0171, the Department of Agriculture submitted its newly created plan to regulate hemp, and the act formally removed hemp-derived CBD from Wyoming’s list of controlled substances. Currently, only CBD oil is legal in Wyoming though CBD oil must contain a maximum of 0.3% THC by weight.
Wyoming Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Wyoming has not legalized medical marijuana or recreational marijuana in any form, and therefore carries criminal penalties for possession and cultivation. Possession of 3 ounces or less is considered a misdemeanor, punishable with up to 12 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. Possessing more than 3 ounces is considered a felony in Wyoming which is punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000. Cultivation of any amount of marijuana is prohibited and considered a misdemeanor carrying a penalty of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.