Alabama Medical Marijuana Legislation
Alabama has legalized Medical Marijuana access to patients via several laws being passed recently, although Recreational Cannabis-use is currently illegal. Starting in 2014 with Carly’s Law, which gave permission to the University of Alabama to provide CBD, a non-psychoactive to children with seizures as part of a clinical study promoted by the University.
In 2016, Leni’s Law was passed to amend Carly’s Law which allowed the possession and use of CBD oils by those who suffered from critical medical conditions after being diagnosed by a licensed physician.
In 2019, SB 225 was signed and had redefined CBD to fit the definition of the Federal 2018 Farm Bill, allowing Alabama pharmacies to sell CBD products to patients.
During 2021 Alabama medical marijuana was able to be voted on as legislature, which was signed in May and affects residents of Alabama. The law, SB 46, the Darren Wesley ‘Ato’ Hall Compassion Act legalized medical marijuana for 16 conditions where alternative medicines or treatments had failed previously. This law expanded marijuana-use definitions to exclude medical marijuana consumption in schools, but also provided no legal framework for Alabama patients who need to use medical marijuana during their work activities. SB 46 also created institutional frameworks such as the Alabama Medical Cannabis Commission to create a registry system, transport systems, testing labs, dispensaries, and license processors for the aforementioned.
Alabama Medical Marijuana Cultivation & Possession Laws
Alabama medical marijuana patients who are 19 years or older, as well as caregivers who are registered as patients or caregivers can legally possess up to 70 daily doses of medical cannabis with their Alabama medical marijuana cards. The limit on a daily dose of medical cannabis is 75mg of THC, though your recommending physician will determine the individual’s limit.
Cultivation of medical marijuana with a medical marijuana card is illegal in Alabama. Any individual cultivating marijuana at home, even for personal use, will be charged with trafficking cannabis and is considered a felony. For those who do not have an Alabama medical marijuana card, possession of cannabis is a misdemeanor and can carry penalties up to $6,000 with one year in prison. For persons who are convicted of possessing marijuana for purposes other than personal use may be charged with a felony, and up to 10 years in prison with a $15,000 maximum fine.
Get started with your Alabama Medical Marijuana Card today!