Georgia Medical Marijuana Card Information
In April 2015 Georgia’s HB 1, also known as Haleigh’s Hope Act was designed to establish a patient registry for patients with qualifying medical conditions. Patients with qualifying medical conditions may possess oil with less than 5% THC. This bill did not create a system for in-state medical marijuana sales.
On May 9, 2018 Gov. Nathan Deal signed SB 16 which expanded patient access to low-THC oils. While the bill expanded the list of qualifying conditions, the bill also allows Georgia hospice residents to obtain low-THC oil.
In July 2019, HB 324 also known as Georgia’s Hope Act came into effect, legalizing the purchase of low-THC oil by registered qualifying patients. HB 324 created systems for production, dispensing, and cultivation while also specifying that patients can possess up to 20 fluid ounces of low-THC oil.
Georgia Medical Marijuana Card, Cultivation & Possession Laws
Georgia specifies that possession of dry cannabis is illegal and possession of more than 1 ounce of marijuana is a felony with a mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year in jail, with a maximum of 10 years with a $5,000 fine. Georgia has also specified that cultivation and growing of cannabis is illegal in Georgia.
Get started with your Georgia Medical Marijuana Card today!