Kentucky Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
Prior to the ‘war on drugs’ Kentucky was the largest source of hemp crops in the United States. By 2014, Kentucky permitted hemp cultivation via the 2014 Farm Bill. Within the same year, Gov. Steve Beshear signed SB 124, which allowed patients to use cannabidiol (CBD) products with a physician’s written notice.
Followed in 2017 when Kentucky passed HB 333 which legalized the consumption and sale of hemp and hemp-derived CBD products containing 0.3% THC or less.
Kentucky Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Since recreational adult-use and medical marijuana are illegal in Kentucky, possession of less than 8 ounces of cannabis is a misdemeanor carrying a punishment of 45 days in jail with a maximum fine of $250. Cultivation of cannabis is also illegal and for those with less than 5 plants who are charged for the first time, those charged can face a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison with a $500 maximum fine. For those who have repeated offenses or are growing more than 5 marijuana plants, they will face a felony and up to 5 years in prison with a maximum fine of $10,000.