Nebraska Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
Following the 2014 US Farm Bill, Nebraska passed LB 1001, also known as the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act. This act allowed for the cultivation and commercial distribution of hemp-derived cannabidiol (CBD) products so long as they are tested and approved by the Nebraska Department of Agriculture.
In 2020 residents attempted to pass an initiative for medical marijuana, but the Nebraska Supreme Court ruled against it, removing it from the 2020 ballot. Though, the bill has already been filed for an initiative for the 2022 election.
Nebraska Medical Marijuana Card, Cultivation & Possession
As Nebraska has neither medical marijuana nor adult-use cannabis legalized, possession may result in fines or more severe penalties. Possessing 1 ounce or less for a fire-time offense may carry a maximum fine of $300, while multiple offenses are classed as a misdemeanor with a minimum 5 days in jail and maximum fine of $500. The sale and manufacturing of any marijuana in any amount is a felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison, and a fine up to $25,000. This means that cultivation of marijuana is severely punishable.