Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card
In January 2006, the Rhode Island legislature passed the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C Slater Medical Marijuana Act, known as S0710, legalizing medical marijuana. To enforce these marijuana laws, S0710 created the Rhode Island Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program, while the Department of Business Regulation is responsible for licensing and regulatory oversight of cultivators, and the state’s medical marijuana plant tracking system, as well as compassion centers. Compassion Centers are Rhode Island’s terminology for a medical marijuana dispensary.
Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
In Rhode Island, patients and caregivers are limited to purchasing 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis every 15 days, and non-medical users cannot possess any marijuana. Possession of 1 ounce or less of non-medical marijuana is a civil crime punishable by a fine of $150 for the first offense. Patients wanting to cultivate their own marijuana must specify that they would like to cultivate marijuana during registration. Patients are limited to 12 mature plants and 12 seedlings and must register the cultivation site address with the Department of Health and purchase medical marijuana plant tags for each plant being grown. Caregivers may possess and cultivate medical marijuana for up to five patients at one time, meaning that a caregiver may possess up to 24 mature marijuana plants and 24 seedlings, and are allowed to possess 2.5 oz of dried marijuana per patient in one location.