South Carolina Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
Marijuana is illegal in South Carolina except for prescribed cannabidiol (CBD) products. CBD products are also not readily available statewide as prescriptions are given out sparsely.
Seeing as CBD is nearly non-accessible to patients who might use CBD, the state has been pushing over the past few years to legalize medical marijuana in South Carolina. In 2017, state reps brought forth the South Carolina Compassionate Care Act, which would allow qualified medical marijuana patients to access medical marijuana to treat debilitating conditions. This law also included the regulatory and licensing guidelines for facilities that may cultivate, process, test, and sell medical marijuana in South Carolina. The bill was approved by both the Senate and House, but never went to a floor vote.
South Carolina Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession
Only qualified patients and their caregivers may possess CBD products with a physician’s written certification. Possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor carrying a $200 fine and imprisonment of up to 30 days. Any repeating offense is followed with a maximum fine of $2,000 and up to one year imprisonment. Cultivation of less than 100 plants is a felony in South Carolina, punishable by up to 5-year imprisonment and a $5,000 fine with increasing criminal penalties and fines for an increased number of marijuana plants.