Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card Renewal
Arkansas law currently allows for qualified medical marijuana card holders to consume marijuana, although adult-use cannabis recreationally is illegal. Recently in 2020 Arkansas tried to get an initiative onto their general ballot called the Arkansas Recreational Marijuana Initiative. This initiative failed to receive enough signatures to get onto the general ballot. This initiative would have legalized marijuana for Arkansas adults aged 21 and over.
Initially, Arkansas population has been reluctant to legalize marijuana for recreational use, though back in 2016 voters had approved the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment (AMMA) also known as Issue 6, on Nov 8, 2016. This law allows seriously ill patients to consume and obtain medical marijuana with a doctor’s approval. This law also established licenses for cultivation facilities and medical marijuana dispensaries.
Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
As recreational possession of marijuana is illegal, possession of less than 4 ounces of marijuana for a first offender is a misdemeanor that is accompanied by one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. For qualified patients who have an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card, patients are legally allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces every 14-days from a state-approved medical marijuana dispensary.
Cultivation of medical marijuana in Arkansas is different from other medical-legalized states, as Arkansas does not allow any qualified patients or caregivers to cultivate marijuana. Due to this, cultivation can be prosecuted as marijuana possession, or can carry more severe charges such as possession with intent to deliver, depending on the amount of marijuana being produced at the cultivation site. Possession of less than 14 grams is a misdemeanor which may lead to a possible jail sentence of up to one year and a $2,500 fine. To carry more than 14 grams is a felony with penalties and carries a mandatory minimum thee-year prison sentence and a $10,000 fine. To avoid such penalties, it is recommended to always purchase medical marijuana from a licensed state-approved medical marijuana dispensary.
Get started with your Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card today!
What are the qualifying medical conditions to renew Arkansas medical marijuana card?
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Severe arthritis
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment, or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
- Severe nausea
- Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
- and any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health
How long does it take to process my application with the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program?
Processing time is up to 14 days from the date we receive your application and payment. Cards are mailed through the post office the next working day after the card is issued.
If my registry identification card expired and I didn’t submit my renewal application before the deadline, am I still eligible to purchase medical marijuana?
No. When your card expires, the legal protection offered by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment is expired. You may still submit your renewal application. You will not be able to purchase medical marijuana until your renewal card is issued.
When does the physician medical marijuana certification expire?
The physician certification is valid for 30 days from the date the doctor signs the form. If a patient gets a certification and fails to submit it to the ADH within 30 days, they must get a new certification.
How long will it take for my renewal medical marijuana card to be approved once I submit it?
It may take up to 14 days to process your renewal from the date we receive your application and payment. Incomplete applications or applications with errors will be returned and will take longer.
When can I renew my Arkansas medical marijuana ID card?
You can renew your card up to 60 days prior to your card’s expiration date. The patient application is $50.00 (non-refundable) paid to the Arkansas medical marijuana program.
What information and forms are required when a patient applies to renew an Arkansas Medical Marijuana card?
The following are required when submitting your application:
- The patient registry application form.
- The completed Physician Written Certification.
- Photocopy of the front of your Arkansas-issued driver’s license or state ID on a full sheet of paper.
- The nonrefundable application fees.
Can an Arkansas medical marijuana doctor complete a medical marijuana recertification via telehealth (online)?
Yes. A certified Arkansas medical marijuana doctor can complete medical marijuana recertification in compliance with the Arkansas Medical Board rules for telehealth.
How to renew Arkansas medical marijuana card online?
Step 1. Schedule an appointment to complete the Arkansas medical marijuana card evaluation.
Step 2. Receive the Arkansas medical marijuana card certification from the doctor.
Step 3. Register with the Arkansas medical marijuana program using the certification form sent to you via email.
Step 4. Await your Arkansas medical marijuana card to arrive in the mail. The AR medical marijuana program issues and mails the AR medical card.