Ohio Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
Signed in 2016, HB523 created the state’s Medical Marijuana Control Program allowing the use of medical marijuana for qualified patients with a physician’s recommendation. HB523 made the Department of commerce responsible for the rules regarding licensing and regulations revolving around cultivators, processors, and testing labs. The Board of Pharmacy was now in charge of licensing dispensaries and creating a patient and caregiver registry, while the Medical Board was to create and maintain a list of qualifying conditions while certifying recommending physicians.
Ohio Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession
Registered medical marijuana patients in Ohio can purchase 4.445 grams of THC in edible form every 45 days. Possession of less than 100 grams is a misdemeanor and carries a maximum fine of $150. Possession of more than 200 grams is a felony punishable up to one year imprisonment with a $2,500 fine. Prison sentences and fines increase as marijuana quantities increase.