Minnesota Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
In May 2014, Gov. Mark Dayton signed the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Act, allowing for the creation of the state’s Medical Cannabis Program and Registry to be directed under the Minnesota Department of Health with retail sales of medical marijuana beginning in 2018.
Minnesota Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Registered medical marijuana patients and caregivers in Minnesota can legally possess up to a 30-day supply of cannabis at a dosage determined by their recommending physician. For those who aren’t registered medical marijuana patients of Minnesota, possession of less than 1.5 ounces of marijuana is considered a petty misdemeanor, with first-time offenders being ordered to a drug rehab and a potential fine up to $300. Possessing more than 1.5 ounces of marijuana in Minnesota is a felony.