Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
On April 17, 2016, the Pennsylvania General Assembly passed the Medical Marijuana Act, known as Act 16. This legalized the possession, sale, and consumption of medical marijuana while tasking the Department of Health with overseeing the marijuana program statewide.
Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
Medical marijuana patients of Pennsylvania can possess up to a 30-day supply of marijuana while the cultivation of marijuana is illegal and a felony. The Department of Health must authorize the cultivation of medical marijuana by patients or caregivers. The felony for cultivating marijuana carries a minimum imprisonment of 2.5 years to 5 years with a maximum fine of $15,000. Possession of 30 grams or less is considered a misdemeanor with up to 30-days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500.