The fastest way to get your Louisiana medical marijuana card or renewal online.

Allow our team of experts to simplify the process of obtaining a Louisiana medical marijuana (MMJ) card or renewal online in just a few simple steps! Get your medical marijuana card or renewal online today!

Get MMJ Card
MMJ Accent Group 1
MMJ Accent Group 2
MMJ Accent Group 3 is the leading virtual medical marijuana card clinic in Louisiana

Our proprietary medical marijuana card telemedicine software and website are designed to simplify the process a patient goes through to receive the required medical marijuana card recommendation or renewal. Our virtual clinic of medical marijuana doctors are here to assist you every step of the way.

Learn About MMJ
learn more picture

How it works

An easier way to get your state medical marijuana card or renewal in Louisiana

Step 1

Take a free pre-assessment

Find out if you qualify for a medical marijuana card in Louisiana by answering a few simple questions. Once completed, schedule a virtual appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.

take free assesment
Step 2

Attend your virtual appointment with a medical marijuana doctor

Log in to your patient profile from a mobile device or desktop and join your virtual appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor. Virtual appointments last approximately 10-15 minutes.

take free assesment
Step 3

Receive your Louisiana medical marijuana recommendation and apply to the state registry

After you receive your medical marijuana card recommendation, we will guide you to the Louisiana state registry. There, you will pay the registration fee (typically $50), apply to the state registry, and receive your medical marijuana card.

take free assesment

Have a question? We have answers.

Our team of medical marijuana researchers and medical cannabis doctors have compiled a list of questions and answers. Commonly asked Louisiana medical marijuana card and renewal questions can be found here.

View all resources

Alzheimer’s disease
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
Cachexia or wasting syndrome
Chronic Pain
Crohn’s Disease
Hospice or palliative care
Huntington’s Disease
Intractable Pain
Lewy-body dementia
Motor-neuron disease
Multiple Sclerosis (MS)​
Muscular Dystrophy
Parkinson’s Disease
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Seizure disorders
Severe muscle spasm
Spinal muscular atrophy
Traumatic brain injury
Any debilitating condition if a physician believes a patient will benefit

The Louisiana state fee is $75 to register for a medical cannabis card.

Louisiana medical marijuana card holders are able to possess up to a 30-day supply of medical cannabis.

No. It is illegal to consume medical cannabis in public places.


Transparent & Affordable.

Our process for obtaining a Louisiana medical marijuana card recommendation was designed with you in mind. If you do not obtain a medical marijuana card recommendation after your virtual appointment, you will receive a full refund!

pricing icon

First-time Louisiana Medical Marijuana Card


Get your new Louisiana medical marijuana card by a licensed medical marijuana doctor online.

Get MMJ Card
pricing icon

Louisiana Medical Marijuana Card


Get your Louisiana medical marijuana card renewed by a medical marijuana doctor online.

Get MMJ Card

Louisiana Medical Marijuana Card Legislation

In 1991 Louisiana legalized medical marijuana with Act No. 874. Unfortunately, the Act used the word “prescribe” which is disallowed by the Federal government since marijuana is a Schedule 1 drug. This made doctors a target for federal law enforcement while stating no allowances for selling or possessing medical marijuana.

In 2016, Gov. John Bel Edwards signed SB 271, creating a medical marijuana program, and being the first state in the deep south to create such a legalized program. The bill replaced the “prescribe” legalese from the 1991 medical marijuana Act No 874. SB 271 specifies that medical marijuana must be provided in process, non-smokable forms and distributed to patients through up to 10 pharmacies. LSU and Southern University were the first to become licensed marijuana production centers for the state, while allowing for one additional producer to be licensed.

In June 2018, HB 579 and HB 627 were signed, expanding the list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana while also pushing LSU and Southern University to conduct research on the medical value of marijuana.

In 2018, the Louisiana Board of Medical Examiners eliminated the 100 patient-maximum rule per licensed doctors under the state’s medical marijuana program. The board also removed a restriction that required patients to revisit their doctor every 9-days to renew orders for medical marijuana products.

In 2020, Louisiana passed HB 211 to protect banks and physicians, HB 418 to protect hospitals from marijuana-relation prosecution and HB 819 which further expanded the list of qualifying conditions to nearly any condition where a licensed physician believes that a patient may benefit from medical marijuana.

Louisiana Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws

Patients and caregivers may possess up to a one-month supply of medical marijuana, determined by their physician. Cultivation of marijuana is illegal in Louisiana, as medical marijuana is only legal in non-smokable forms.

Do I need a Louisiana medical marijuana card?

Here are a few of the many reasons to become a state registered Louisiana medical marijuana card holder.

Medical Marijuana Card

Sales tax range from 0-5% in most MMJ states

Higher possession limits

Access to more dispensaries

Supervision of a medical doctor

Recreational Marijuana

Sales tax as high as 37%

Restricted possession limits

Access to less dispensaries

No medical supervision