Maryland Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
In 2014, HB 881 was signed and created the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission (MMCC), which is charged with creating the regulatory standards for legal consumption, cultivation, possession and distribution of marijuana products to patients 18 and older.
MMCC released the regulatory changes in August 2019, adding dentists, certified midwives, nurse practitioners, and podiatrists to the list of eligible medical professionals who can recommend marijuana to patients. MMCC also established a registry for patients and caregivers to oversee that medical marijuana can be made available in the most effective and safest way possible.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Card Cultivation & Possession Laws
MMCC has determined a purchase limit of 4 ounces of usable marijuana, or 1 ounce of total THC is a 30-day period. Patient’s physicians can also recommend a higher amount. While medical marijuana is allowed in Maryland, edible and drinkable marijuana products are prohibited and therefore not available in dispensaries in Maryland. Patients and caregivers can only purchase medical marijuana from state-licensed dispensaries, and caregivers may be allowed to purchase and deliver medical marijuana on their behalf. Only patients and caregivers in the MMCC registry can legally possess medical marijuana. Possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana for adults or recreational use can result in a fine of up to $100. Repeated offenses can also result in higher fines. On the 4th repeated offense, or when possessing more than 10 grams, a misdemeanor can be charged with a penalty of up to one year in prison and a $1,000 fine. While cultivating marijuana is still illegal, in December 2020, The Marijuana Inclusion and Restoration Act was proposed, which would allow adults over the age of 21 to cultivate up to 6 marijuana plants for personal use if the plants are secured and not visible to the public or minors, though this Act has not been voted-on.