North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card Legislation
In 2014, Gov. Pat McCrory signed HB 1220, also known as the Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act. This act allowed patients diagnosed with intractable epilepsy to access low-THC hemp extract.
In July 2015, HB 1220 was amended with HB 766, increasing the amount of THC from 0.3% to 0.9% and decreased the required CBD amount from 10% to 5% while expanding the number of qualified physicians, certified hospitals, and removed the requirement of children-only patients.
North Carolina Medical Marijuana Cultivation & Possession
Since North Carolina has not legalized medical marijuana or recreational-use, North Carolina charges those possessing 0.5 ounces or less with a misdemeanor and a maximum fine of $200. Possessing more than 1.5 ounces of marijuana will result in a felony punishable by up to 8 months in jail with a $1,000 fine. Cultivation of marijuana in North Carolina is strictly prohibited, as cultivating less than 10 pounds can result in a felony punishable with up to 8 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Penalties and fines increase with the amount of marijuana being cultivated or in possession.